Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of The Healthy Jew

Replay: What's Real Food and Where To Find It

Your guide to eating well.
1

I’m a foraging guide in Israel’s natural world.

(By the way, I’m planning another open walk right outside of Ramat Bet Shemesh for this Sunday afternoon, March 10. For more details, respond to this email or write to contact@healthyjew.org.)

But I’m not always eating directly from God's delicious and nutritious produce. Most of what I eat comes from stores.

Nevertheless, we can learn from foraging what sorts of foods will keep us healthy: real foods that come from the real world, not food-like substances concocted in a laboratory.

As I explained last week, this relationship with eating is far healthier, balanced, and more sustainable than judging foods as bad and junk or ignoring their effect on our health altogether.

In yesterday’s online Healthy Jew Workshop, I showed what exactly are real foods, where you can find them, and how to eat them. I also made a case for almost-real foods, and showed their advantages over pure food-like substances.

This workshop and replay are special for paid subscribers to The Healthy Jew. So if you’re still on the free subscription plan, I invite you to join today our growing community to watch this workshop, and come on live next month.

Eitan and I foraging yesterday, checking out a chubeza (mallow) leaf in a sea of delicious real foods.

This post is for paid subscribers